The Death of Sarah

Daily Verse Reading – Genesis 23:1-4; 19; 24:1-8; 62-6712_burial906x582

Genesis 23:1-4

23 Sarah lived one hundred and twenty-seven years. These were the years of the life of Sarah. 2 Then Sarah died in Kiriath Arba (that is, Hebron) in the land of Canaan, and Abraham went in to mourn for Sarah and to weep for her.

3 Then Abraham stood up from before his dead and spoke to the Hittites,[a] saying, 4 “I am a stranger and a foreigner among you. Give me property for a burying place among you, that I may bury my dead out of my sight.”

Genesis 23:19

19 After this, Abraham buried Sarah his wife in the cave of the field of Machpelah before Mamre (that is, Hebron) in the land of Canaan.

Genesis 24:1-8

Isaac and Rebekah

24 Now Abraham was old, well advanced in age; and the Lord had blessed Abraham in all things. 2 So Abraham said to his servant, the oldest of his household, who was in charge over all that he had, “Please, place your hand under my thigh, 3 and I will make you swear by the Lord, the God of heaven and the God of the earth, that you will not take a wife for my son from the daughters of the Canaanites, among whom I live. 4 But you shall go to my country and to my family, and take a wife for my son Isaac.”

5 Then the servant said to him, “Perhaps the woman will not be willing to follow me to this land. Must I take your son back to the land from which you came?”

6 Abraham said to him, “See to it that you do not take my son back there. 7 The Lord God of heaven, who took me from my father’s family and from the land of my relatives, and who spoke to me and swore to me, saying, ‘To your descendants I will give this land,’ He shall send His angel before you and you shall take a wife for my son from there. 8 If the woman is not willing to follow you, then you will be free from my oath. Only do not take my son back there.”

Genesis 24:62-67

62 Now Isaac came from the way of Beer Lahai Roi, for he lived in the Negev. 63 Isaac went out in the evening to meditate in the field; and he lifted up his eyes and looked, and surely the camels were coming. 64 And Rebekah lifted up her eyes, and when she saw Isaac, she dismounted from her camel 65 and said to the servant, “Who is this man walking in the field to meet us?”

The servant said, “It is my master.” Therefore she took a veil and covered herself.

66 Then the servant told Isaac all the things he had done. 67 So Isaac brought her into the tent of his mother Sarah; and he took Rebekah and she became his wife and he loved her. So Isaac was comforted after his mother’s death.

Modern English Version (MEV)
The Holy Bible, Modern English Version. Copyright © 2014 by Military Bible Association. Published and distributed by Charisma House.
This entry was posted in daily verse reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

